SSL Certificate
Montclair Kimberley Academy
        AdmissionsArtsAthleticsAlumniParentsSupporting MKA
page tools :
Home >
Alumni > Alumni Awards > Founders' Cup

Founders' Cup

It's time again for The Founders' Cup Award Nominations. The Founders' Cup Award is sponsored by the Alumni Association in recognition of MKA's strong tradition of teaching excellence, dating back to 1887. The award will be presented to an outstanding faculty member who is most representative of the best qualities of MKA teaching. The Alumni Association welcomes nominations for The Founders' Cup Award from all members of the MKA family (students, parents, alumni, administration and faculty). Past recipients of the award are:

2015 Ken Smith   Middle School PE
2014 John Jacobs   Upper School Latin
2013 David Hessler   Upper School History
2012 Ben Goodrich   Upper School Math
2011 Michael Houston   Upper School French
2010 Nancy Gratz   Middle School Math
2009 Jane Smith   Primary School Music
2008 Patricia Forbes   Upper School English
2007 Sonia Tyson   Primary School Spanish
2006 Lynn Salehi   Middle School History
2005 Barbara DuRant   Primary School Art
2004 Geoffrey Branigan   Upper School History
2003 Laura Lemaire   Middle School 4th Grade
2002 J. C. Svec   Upper School Fine & Performing Arts
2001 Donna Blanes   Primary School 1st Grade
2000 George E. Berry III   Upper School English
1999 Ken Bishe   Middle School History
1998 Linda Stark   Middle School English
1997 Karen Newman   Upper School English
1996 George Hrab   Upper School Science
1995 Pat Parke   Primary School 2nd Grade
1994 Ken Gibson   Upper School History
1993 Helen Faulkner   Middle School Math


The purpose of The Founders' Cup Award is to recognize high-caliber teaching in and outside the classroom. Nominees for the award must demonstrate many of the following characteristics and/or have made a significant contribution to MKA during the past year.

  • Teaching excellence, including classroom teaching, good rapport with students, and a high level of scholarship (in the form of additional formal or informal education).
  • Cooperation with other faculty members, sharing and using novel ideas that improve teaching or school performance.
  • Activities and contributions outside the classroom, including mentoring.
  • Effective communication with parents.
  • Productive innovation and risk-taking in and out of the classroom.
  • Consistency and continuity of excellence.
  • Overall contribution to the MKA family.


To be eligible for the award, each nominee:

  1. Must be a full-time MKA faculty member currently teaching a full-time or part-time course load (at least 50% of their time must be devoted to teaching).
  2. Must have already completed, prior to the award year, three full years of teaching at MKA.
  3. Cannot be re-nominated for five years after winning the award.
We're sorry. The form you requested is not active at this time.

Bookmark and Share

Montclair Kimberley Academy  •  201 Valley Road  •  Montclair, NJ 07042  •  973.746.9800
email page print page small type large type

powered by finalsite